Grace

My birthday was last week. So, Efi got me a present.

Efi: This is for you!

Me: (with enthusiasm) Wow! It’s great!

Efi: Really? You like it? Do you know who Grace Coddington is?

Me: (with no less enthusiasm than before) No!

Efi: She’s, like, the creative director of Vogue!

Me: Cool!

I start leafing through the first few pages. I notice there are pictures, large print. I notice that it smells like a new book. I start reading the first words I see – on a page marked Introduction.

Me: “In which our heroine finds fame on film but, like Greta Garbo, just wishes to be left alone.” Efi! Grace Coddington, Greta Garbo and me! We all want to be left alone! I can already tell I’m going to like this book!

Efi: Good. I bought one for myself, too.

So there you have it. Efi and I are going to start reading Grace Coddington’s memoir. Perhaps we’ll refer to it in future blog posts. And perhaps not. We invite you to read it, too. At your leisure, of course. Let us know what you think.

IMG_4843

IMG_4841

IMG_4842

Her interview in the following Huffington Post article is an interesting read. I’m not sure how candid she is in her book, but I enjoy the way in which she seems to say what she thinks without really caring about what anyone else thinks about it.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/12/16/grace-coddington-memoir_n_2287674.html

Until soon,

H

About wanderingmuses31

We are both from the USA, and now we live in Thessaloniki, Greece. We are friends with similar interests and hobbies - namely photography and all things aesthetically pleasing and lots of laughter. We don't claim to know about a lot of things, but hope that you find inspiration in some of the things that inspire us. Thanks.
This entry was posted in Good Taste, Wanderings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

