Otherworldly wanderings.

There’s something peaceful about wandering around cemeteries, and for me they are a reminder of the beauty of being alive.  My grandmother lived near a cemetery in Seattle when I was growing up, and I used to go for long walks there when I wanted to get away.  Sometimes it was the only place I could find that was truly quiet in the chaos of every day life.  I choose to see these sacred places as sanctuaries for reflection rather than symbols of morbidity or spookiness.  I sometimes photograph cemeteries during my travels, and often wonder about the stories of the lives that have passed.

100_2699

Kefallonia, Greece

100_2696

Kefallonia, Greece

100_2700

Kefallonia, Greece

100_1682

Kastoria, Greece

P1070005

Lefkada, Greece

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Seattle, WA

I don’t know if I believe in the afterlife and I certainly don’t believe that we go to a bubbly, happy place in the sky when our time on Earth is done.  If we do go somewhere, however, this is what I would want to wear.  There’s an ethereal, otherworldly quality to Gareth Pugh’s Fall ’13 collection that makes me hope that there is an afterlife and that we can pick our wardrobes when we get there.  For me, Heaven would be a giant closet in the sky…filled with this collection.  Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(Images from style.com)

Until soon,

E

About wanderingmuses31

We are both from the USA, and now we live in Thessaloniki, Greece. We are friends with similar interests and hobbies - namely photography and all things aesthetically pleasing and lots of laughter. We don't claim to know about a lot of things, but hope that you find inspiration in some of the things that inspire us. Thanks.
This entry was posted in Imagination, Silhouette, Wanderings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

