Little kid things.

Is it just me, or are a lot of parents today dressing their kids WAY better than our parents dressed us? Perhaps there were limited options for parents raising their kids in the eighties and nineties. Clothes for children used to look like they were designed specifically for children. Today, styles are so versatile that there are kids out there wearing nothing but the latest trends. And let’s face it – the little whippersnappers are looking better than most adults.

Yes. I do feel a bit slighted. But when I think about how people actually looked back then, I’m thankful my mom didn’t opt to have my hair permed. Super glad I didn’t own anything with shoulder pads (βάτες – in Greek…what a great word) in it.

It’s refreshing to see kids looking like little ladies and gentlemen. Why not? And if you’re not convinced, then just check out the kids in the following photographs:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I can’t know for sure where these parents are getting their inspiration from. For all I know, these kids are picking out their own clothes – and their parents have nothing to do with their style. But the resemblance to certain celebrities is uncanny. For instance:

1a

1bTotally Sia. Next.

2a

2b

Is the little girl Bjork? Or, is Bjork the little girl?

3a

3b

Kurt Cobain. Perfect. Onward.

4a

4b

Patrick Carney. Swaggin’ it up.

5a

5b

Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Dapper as hell.

7a

chloe-sevigny_mode_large_qualite_uk1

Chloe Sevigny. I can’t help it. I’ve gotta include a second photo.

chloe-sevigny_mode_large_qualite_uk

So self-indulgent, I know. Moving right along…this little guy…

8a

8b

And Keanu Reeves. I mean, they’re the same.

9a

9b

My first thought was: Jim James, My Morning Jacket. But then this worked much better.

11b

11a

Carey Mulligan. The hairstyle, the vintage look. Dig it.

12a

12b

Janis Joplin. I enjoy bell bottoms. Little lady in the photo wears ’em well.

tumblr_mihhn0QzYw1r9bsx6o1_500

23669_er

Even Slash was a little kid once.

tumblr_low68ixrS21qmyf1ko1_500

Billy+Idol

Is this Gavin Rossdale and Gwen Stefani’s kid? If so, it’s no real surprise that the look conjures up images of Billy Idol and his famous sneer.

Speaking of Patrick Carney, this video from The Black Keys probably planted the seed for this post when I first saw it last spring. Check it out. It’s fun.

Until soon,

H

About wanderingmuses31

We are both from the USA, and now we live in Thessaloniki, Greece. We are friends with similar interests and hobbies - namely photography and all things aesthetically pleasing and lots of laughter. We don't claim to know about a lot of things, but hope that you find inspiration in some of the things that inspire us. Thanks.
This entry was posted in Good Taste, Imagination, Silhouette and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Little kid things.

  1. Iva says:

    Oh, Keanu is so so so utterly sexy! He’s my favourite actor by the way, but I kind of forgot how cool he is (was?).

  2. In some ways, I kind of don`t like it. Kids should look like kids, and shouldn`t be in clothes they aren`t supposed to get messy. I like some trending, but I don`t like it when I see kids in mini club wear and v neck dresses. That`s robbing them of their right to be kids, and that`s just wrong!

    • Noted. But kids don’t really have a choice either way, do they? These particular outfits don’t scream “club wear” to me, but that’s just my opinion. Let’s face it, no matter what kids are wearing, they’re cute. 🙂

      • No, not these. Just some things I see on the streets. That`s true, a kid is always cute, no matter what! Well, except for that ghastly show Toddlers and Tiaras. They`d even be cute there if they were allowed to act like humans! I particularly like kids, I just prefer them wearing childish and adorable things over trendy, but that`s just me. The formal wear stuff is amazingly adorable, though!

Leave a Reply

