The Pink Hair Question.

Coming across these two lovely ladies in Thessaloniki the other day got me thinking about the enigmatic allure of pink hair.  Plus, something deep inside me wondered if these two wandering muses are a glimpse into our future.  Are these two, in fact, Helen and me in forty years?

IMG_1790

Pink hair is nothing new.  In fact, it’s one of those trends that never really seems to go away.  From Marilyn Monroe to, more recently, Helen Mirren, pink hair seems to make an appearance every year.  Is it because pink is the ultimate in gender-specific wear?  So much so that we need to wear pink on our heads, lest we forget we are girls?  And does its constant presence mean that pink hair is not just a trend?  If so, then do we dare call it classic?

Black pumps.

Pearls.

Quilted Chanel bag.

Pink hair.

Classic or not, pink hair was on the runways for spring 2013 at Peter Som, Oscar de la Renta and Anna Sui.

And then there’s the lovely Charlotte Free on the cover of this month’s Flare Magazine, pink hair a-blazing.

I don’t know.  Pink hair leaves me bewildered and full of uncertainty.  What I do know is that when I donned a pink wig for carnivale a few years back, it did wonders for my complexion.  Perhaps that’s part of the appeal.  Who needs Crème de la Mer when you have pink hair? And, as Steven Tyler so poignantly sang back in 1997, “You could be my flamingo/ ‘Cause pink, it’s a new kind of lingo/Pink, like a deco umbrella”.  Are you as confused as I am?

If you’re thinking about jumping onto the pink hair bandwagon and want to know how, I can’t help you.  Talk to your hairdresser.  In the meantime, you can always get a temporary fix here.

Until soon,

E

About wanderingmuses31

We are both from the USA, and now we live in Thessaloniki, Greece. We are friends with similar interests and hobbies - namely photography and all things aesthetically pleasing and lots of laughter. We don't claim to know about a lot of things, but hope that you find inspiration in some of the things that inspire us. Thanks.
This entry was posted in Good Taste and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Pink Hair Question.

  1. pride and prejudice and pink says:

    I personally LOVE the pastel pink hair, you can actually get the same look through hair chalk. Kevin Murphy is a popular brand of hair chalk that comes in the colours purple, pink and orange.

  2. Auburn says:

    I’m a big fan, and have been debating going purple myself for years (which I actually see on a lot of older women in the Czech Republic – more so than pink). I can probably thank my occasionally-blue-blond-black-or-calico-haired mother for the inspiration.

  3. I say do it with the purple hair. You only live once. Your mother sounds like quite the muse…go mom!

Leave a Reply

