Singing in the Rain — With the Right Umbrella.

IMG_0530

Thessaloniki, Greece

It has been raining and/or cloudy all week here in Thessaloniki, and all this dampness has got me thinking about umbrellas.  Mainly that I don’t own a decent one.  You would think that, having lived most of my life in the lovely but ever-so-rainy Seattle, I would have invested in a good umbrella at some point.  The truth is, however, that carrying an umbrella in Seattle pretty much makes you a wuss.  Plus it does nothing for that sideways rain that guarantees you’ll reach your destination with a head of frizzy hair and runny mascara, no matter what you do.

Here in Thessaloniki the rain falls vertically from the sky for the most part, so I’m thinking that it might just be time to invest in an umbrella that I can be proud of.  And while a quality umbrella may not be at the top of most people’s must-have accessories list, I would contend that there’s nothing worse than seeing an otherwise elegant outfit destroyed by a crappy umbrella purchased at the dollar store.  Take a look at these lovely ladies and you’ll see just how crucial this overlooked accessory is in pulling an outfit together on a rainy day.

Gene Kelly knew what was up, too.  Just try to imagine him here without his trusty umbrella.  I dare you.

I’ve narrowed my search for the perfect umbrella down to the following.  This one, from Gina and May, because I’m kind of into stripes these days:

gina and may1

These lovelies come from pare*umbrella (which is a Seattle-based company and, as such, has a special place in my heart):

And then there’s the ultimate in luxury raingear.  I’m not so sure that I want to spend a small fortune on an umbrella, but these umbrellas from Burberry are so divine.  Oh, the temptation…

Of course, by the time I finally settle on one of these beauties, it’ll be time to start thinking about swimwear and I’ll probably forget about the whole thing.  Until, of course, the next time it rains and I find myself trying to make my crappy, dollar store umbrella work with my Alexander Wang booties, silently crying on the inside and wondering what went wrong.

Until soon,

E

About wanderingmuses31

We are both from the USA, and now we live in Thessaloniki, Greece. We are friends with similar interests and hobbies - namely photography and all things aesthetically pleasing and lots of laughter. We don't claim to know about a lot of things, but hope that you find inspiration in some of the things that inspire us. Thanks.
This entry was posted in Good Taste, Silhouette and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Singing in the Rain — With the Right Umbrella.

  1. Iva says:

    A beautiful umbrella is a great accessory. I bought one recently and I was surprise to find out how expensive they could be.

  2. Yes, they can be very pricey, but I think it’s worth the investment–especially if you can find one that goes with everything.

  3. Pingback: Grunge. Or… You Wore That On Purpose? | wandering muses

Leave a Reply

