Shoes Are Not Made For Talking

So Google’s working on this talking shoe that will motivate you to move when you don’t feel like it. That’s the idea, I think.

Could something like this help me? I just signed up for a 10K I have to run in two weeks. I know. A 10K is not a big deal. But I haven’t really done anything active in almost a month. So I should do a little moving beforehand, no? It’s been raining on and off for a bit, so I signed up for the gym. So hard to go to the gym when I’m used to seeing this when I run:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

              All photos taken with my cell phone on my running route in Thessaloniki.                 From November 2012-March 2013

My mini-training was supposed to start Friday, but my ipod wasn’t charged, so I didn’t go. M says I’m full of excuses. I say there ain’t no way in hell I’m going to that godforsaken place without earbuds firmly planted in my ears from start to finish. So I started yesterday and did ok. The gym is closed today, but I’m going to run outside. It’s raining. But I have to do it. Perhaps if I had Google’s talking shoe I would’ve started Friday? Let’s see.

So the shoe wouldn’t work for me. I just decided. It’s cute in the commercial, but in actuality it would piss me off. First, there’s no way I wouldn’t respond to it. Out loud. For instance. Shoe: I love the feeling of wind in my laces. Me: Who even wrote that? Your mom? This would make me look crazy.

Second, it has a British accent. My shoe would absolutely have to be from NY to have any sort of influence on me. I’m not going to listen to some British guy tell me I need to move faster.

Third, they’re ugly.

I’m going to stick to making strategic playlists. For instance, the song Earth Intruders by Bjork works. I imagine we’re in a post nuclear apocalypse, the earth has been destroyed, and all survivors have turned to cannibals because there’s nothing to eat on a land turned grey and barren. So I’m running from a bunch of cannibals every time it comes on. Does wonders for my time.

Anything by The Presets, also. This is a song I love to listen to as I run along our nea paralia, by the sea. It was written for me, you know 😉

So for now I’ll stick to methods tried and true. Come on google…stop putting all this money into things that make us look like douchebags (talking shoes, glasses) and put it into stuff that…I dunno…we need or something.

Until soon,

H

P.S. I’m working on a new playlist for the run. If you have any suggestions for songs that will help me get through it (and fast), let me know please 🙂

About wanderingmuses31

We are both from the USA, and now we live in Thessaloniki, Greece. We are friends with similar interests and hobbies - namely photography and all things aesthetically pleasing and lots of laughter. We don't claim to know about a lot of things, but hope that you find inspiration in some of the things that inspire us. Thanks.
This entry was posted in Imagination, Wanderings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

