Get Ready To Rethink Plastic Flowers

So four bands from Greece were featured at this year’s SXSW festival in Texas. Where was I? In my own world, that’s where. No matter. Better late than never. Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you, Plastic Flowers.

Thessaloniki’s Plastic Flowers formed in January 2011, which makes them super fresh. They are so fresh that they have yet to release a full album – but what does that mean? Nothing. Good enough for South by Southwest; and this isn’t the last you’ll be hearing from them. They’ll be back to the US super soon.

What bothers me is that they were at Coo Bar here in Thessaloniki on March 2nd. Missed them. They played Arlene’s Grocery in NYC on March 24th. Obviously missed them. They played in Athens last night. Just barely missed them. We’ve probably been walking down the same streets in Thessaloniki, frequenting the same live shows, mingling at the same watering holes for the last few years…

554989_10151854087964012_1458804848_n

In terms of music; they bring me back to the days when I used to listen to The Cure and The Smiths and Depeche Mode and really FELT what I was listening to. Those of you who listened to those bands growing up in the nineties know what I mean. The music is catchy without being too pop for it’s own good. Have a listen for yourself.

And another one.

And another one.

In terms of style…let’s just say these boys are easy on the eyes. So I don’t think it really matters what they’re wearing. Did I mention how proud I am that music like this is coming out of Thessaloniki? I’m absolutely proud as punch. More on Greek bands to come later (don’t think we forgot about those turbans…we’ll be posting about those soon, too…). For now, enjoy some more Plastic Flowers. I’d never put them in my home (tacky, dusty), but for the band, I’d make an exception 😉

562253_10151873470479012_47893451_n

Until soon,

H

About wanderingmuses31

We are both from the USA, and now we live in Thessaloniki, Greece. We are friends with similar interests and hobbies - namely photography and all things aesthetically pleasing and lots of laughter. We don't claim to know about a lot of things, but hope that you find inspiration in some of the things that inspire us. Thanks.
This entry was posted in Imagination and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

