Daft Punk, Disguises, Design and Disco

April 1997 – my first time in Paris. First time wandering away from home without my parents. I was there with about 15 other teenagers, on a school trip. Somehow we’d ended up at the Virgin Megastore. I wanted to buy something French, so I scanned over tiers and tiers of CD’s – all French. Until I saw this:

DaftPunkHomeworkBelieve it or not, there were times I’d buy CD’s just because I liked the art, or the title, or the name of the band. To me, the possibility I’d be discovering something REALLY GOOD was…everything. Remember the plastic, the getting it open, the insert, the photos, the lyrics – the disappointment the times there were no lyrics, or photos…

And then there was the time for listening. I’d try my damnedest to listen to those new CD’s once, all the way through, without switching songs in the middle. With Daft Punk’s Homework, that wasn’t hard to do. What was hard was not playing songs on repeat from the start. Remember this one?

I saw them perform live in 2007. It was the biggest dance party I’d ever been to. I’d never before seen waves and waves of people all moving at once, together, like that before. And I doubt I will again. The show looked something like this:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

They wear their helmets throughout the entire set, and I can’t even imagine how hot it gets under there. No matter. They wear ’em to protect their privacy – to keep the focus off them and on the music. Their propensity for disguise has worked in their favor; they are mysterious, playful, strange…even sexy.

Of course their unique style has attracted attention from the fashion industry. They started with the GAP, collaborated on style with Converse, provided the soundtrack for the Louis Vuitton ss/2008 runway show. These are photos from the Louis Vuitton photoshoot they did for Vogue Japan:

Obviously they’d attract the attention of Saint Laurent’s creative director, Hedi Slimane. First the Daft Punk boys developed the runway soundtrack for Slimane’s 2012 debut. Now, Slimane’s featured them in the Music Project. The photos of the boys look something like this:

Here’s the ad that ran during SNL a couple of weeks ago. The sequined smoking jackets are so perfect it’s crazy. I love them with the helmets. Shiny. Delightful. Bad-ass. How can sequined smoking jackets look bad-ass? Like this.

Obsession magazine’s got ’em featured in their May 2013 issue – cover and everything. It seems the world can’t get enough of Daft Punk these days…

I’ve listened to their new single on repeat all day. Literally. You know this is the song they’ll be playing EVERYWHERE this summer…the song that’s brought disco back to dance music…a song you can really shake your ass to. It’s not what I expected from them, but it’s what I’ve been waiting for. Whether I knew it or not.

This song. Nostalgia. Dance. Love. Youth. Joy. Anticipation. Here’s to the things in life that make you feel like you’re sixteen all over again. Can’t wait ’till May 21st.

Until soon,

H

About wanderingmuses31

We are both from the USA, and now we live in Thessaloniki, Greece. We are friends with similar interests and hobbies - namely photography and all things aesthetically pleasing and lots of laughter. We don't claim to know about a lot of things, but hope that you find inspiration in some of the things that inspire us. Thanks.
This entry was posted in Good Taste, Silhouette, Wanderings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

