Shourouk My World

In terms of personal style, I’m pretty much a die-hard minimalist.  My version of Heaven is a never-ending closet filled with Alexander Wang, Narciso Rodriguez, Calvin Klein, Jil Sander and Celine.  As for color, I prefer black, white, navy, grey and nude.  Even on my nails.  I wear black nail polish (if any) in the winter and nude in the summer, despite my pedicurist’s pleas for a change.  I believe that less is more and that’s that, my dear friends.  Call me boring.  I don’t care.

Occasionally, however, I like to add a little surprise to my mostly neutral, mostly monochromatic outfits.  A neon yellow clutch here, a red lip there.  Daring, I know.  What can I say?  I’m a risk-taker.  But really, I’m more likely to move to a different continent on a whim (true story) than be caught wearing prints.  And as far as bling is concerned, I usually don’t want to have a damn thing to do with it.  Which is why I was so confused when I discovered Shourouk.  I say confused because I suddenly found myself experiencing strangely surprising feelings of delight when I stumbled upon these very ornate, extremely blingy pieces of jewelry.

Shourouk was established in 2007 by designer Shourouk Rhaiem, a Parisian of Tunisian descent.  She uses painted stones, PVC, climbing rope and Swarovski crystals to create decadent statement pieces that I just can’t stop staring at.  And don’t even get me started on the turbans…

CAMPAGNE-1-SS-201311 CAMPAGNE-2-SS-201311 CAMPAGNE-3-SS-201311 CAMPAGNE-4-SS-20131 CAMPAGNE-5-SS-201311

Could this mark the beginning of the end of a personal style era for me?  Will I soon be a recovering minimalist, preferring Baroque over Bauhaus and mentally replacing my celestial inventory of Jil Sander and Calvin Klein with Cavalli and Galliano?  I don’t know.  What I do know is that these pieces are gorgeous.  And if I could afford them, I might even wear one.  With a white t-shirt, black cigarette pants and black ballet flats, of course.  Anything more and my whole world might come crashing down.

Until soon,

E

About wanderingmuses31

We are both from the USA, and now we live in Thessaloniki, Greece. We are friends with similar interests and hobbies - namely photography and all things aesthetically pleasing and lots of laughter. We don't claim to know about a lot of things, but hope that you find inspiration in some of the things that inspire us. Thanks.
This entry was posted in Good Taste, Silhouette and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

