Making Gemista Like A G

I’d like to let you in on a little secret. The truth is, one of the things that’s kept me drawn to Thessaloniki is the produce. Everything about fruits and vegetables is different here in Greece: the smell, the taste, the appearance, everything. While shopping at the farmer’s market yesterday, I found (smelled first, saw later) the most incredible tomatoes and peppers. And decided to try my luck at making gemista (stuffed tomatoes and peppers) again. For the third time.

IMG_7435

The first time I made them, I didn’t use enough olive oil. (Be generous with the olive oil – it’s important when you’re making λαδερά) They were so dry and so gross that I actually had to throw the whole batch away. Even M couldn’t eat them, and he LOVES my cooking. The second time I made them, they were…meh…ok. But still, not like mom’s; they were missing something…Today, though…Today I had my breakthrough.

IMG_7440

IMG_7442

IMG_7447

They’re not burned. I just like my tops crispy 😉 I substituted white rice for brown, and didn’t include meat. The great thing about gemista is that you can eat them hot or cold. But they are best with a big chunk of feta (what else?) on the side. We devoured them. M ate four peppers in one sitting.

One of the reasons they came out so awesome is because it was my third attempt. So, duh. They were obviously going to come out better. However, I don’t think they would have been as amazing as they were, had I not found My Little Expat Kitchen.

Magda is a fellow muse, currently living in The Hague, formerly of Athens, Greece. Her blog is SICK. Those of you who are looking for ways to incorporate Mediterranean cooking into your food regime, this site is for you. She’s got three and a half years worth of recipes that look really, really good. So go there, and make stuff. You won’t be disappointed.

And if you want to both protect your clothes and also look stylish and sexy while you’re making your gemista, or anything else for that matter, check out Anthopologie’s aprons. They’re pretty.

083164_006_b 083329_085_b 770521_069_b 21238993_046_b 23558505_012_b 27435718_095_b 27436021_041_b

Until soon,

H

About wanderingmuses31

We are both from the USA, and now we live in Thessaloniki, Greece. We are friends with similar interests and hobbies - namely photography and all things aesthetically pleasing and lots of laughter. We don't claim to know about a lot of things, but hope that you find inspiration in some of the things that inspire us. Thanks.
This entry was posted in Good Taste, Silhouette and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Making Gemista Like A G

  1. Magda says:

    Hi Helen. Thanks for your kind words about my blog. 🙂
    Again, I’m thrilled you liked the recipe and your gemista look amazing!

    • Loved your recipe! I told you – those carrots and peppers added in the stuffing made all the difference. I’m sure they’ll get better and better with time! Lots of love from Thessaloniki!!

  2. Iva says:

    Lovely food. It would be a pleasure to prepare it in one of those aprons…. I’ve checked the website 🙂

  3. Ahaha I laughed! I don’t know how they taste, but they do look good! I am a Greek but I can’t make them as my mom’s for sure! (At least, you have good vegetables as you say.. here in Denmark I have to settle for everything imported small and tasteless, more like plastic taste :/

    Piece of advice: Try small grocery stores for fruits and vegetables, avoid big supermarkets 🙂

    • Very true! I like the farmer’s market produce, myself! I’m glad you liked the post – if you ever get good tomatoes and peppers up there, you might want to try making them, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

