Cycling Chic

I got a bicycle as a gift for my birthday a couple of years ago and have taken it out for a ride approximately one time.  The way I ride (or don’t ride) my bike is akin to the way I approach my gym memberships.  First I get really motivated about it in a theoretical sort of way.  Then I spend the money required to make it happen.  Finally, I wind up happily lounging on my couch with the latest edition of Vogue instead—all the while promising to get my ass in gear tomorrow.  If only I were as interested in physical fitness as I am in accessories…

If I had known about today’s Athens Skirt Ride sooner, perhaps it would have given me the motivation to finally dust off my poor, lonely bike.  Or at least I might have made the trip just to take some photos.  The event was organized by MBike, Greece’s first monthly cycling magazine, as a way to promote cycling for women in Greece.

athens_skirt_bike_824x551_543x355$ 264469_503273786406137_2039177409_n 485457_505918289475020_1386512163_n

Photos from M Bike Greece

Perhaps they’ll organize an event in Thessaloniki soon?  In the meantime, let’s enjoy these photographs of stylish cyclists from around the world taken by Scott Schuman, the man behind The Sartorialist.  Here’s proof that you can ride your bike and still look chic at the same time.  No spandex shorts required.

Even those crazy Victorians knew what was up.  Check out those dresses…not an ankle in sight.

So throw on a dress, pick up your bike and get wild, ladies.  Do it.  I know I will.  Tomorrow.  I promise.

Until soon,

E

 

About wanderingmuses31

We are both from the USA, and now we live in Thessaloniki, Greece. We are friends with similar interests and hobbies - namely photography and all things aesthetically pleasing and lots of laughter. We don't claim to know about a lot of things, but hope that you find inspiration in some of the things that inspire us. Thanks.
This entry was posted in Silhouette, Wanderings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cycling Chic

  1. Pingback: Chic Cycling | E'n'M

Leave a Reply

