Costa Rican Wanderings

A couple of years ago, I spent two glorious weeks wandering around Costa Rica.  The first week involved a lot of roaming around rain forests, attempting to photograph various creatures and searching for the elusive quetzal (which I managed to catch a glimpse of through binoculars).  The second week was all about beach bumming in the magnificent surfer town of Santa Teresa.  I don’t surf but I wish I did.  I would have taken a lesson or two but since my laziness knows no limits, I decided to lounge around in the hammock instead.  Somehow, I did manage to take a few photographs…none of which really do justice to this stunning paradise….IMG_1679 IMG_1707 IMG_1711 IMG_1737 IMG_1739 IMG_1783

I packed all sorts of appropriate outfits in preparation for the trip, but ended up wearing my bikini and a couple of sun dresses for the most part.  The good news is that I didn’t have much laundry to do when I got back.  The bad news is that I looked nothing like this gorgeous model in this month’s W Magazine sporting haute couture in the jungle and rolling around in designer swimsuits and/or half naked on Santa Teresa’s beach.  Still, this stunning shoot brings back memories of a place I’ll never forget.

Photographs by Mikael Jansson

If you ever happen to wander over to Santa Teresa, you might want to consider staying at Gumbo Limbo Villas.  I promise you’ll be greeted by monkeys, iguanas and warm smiles.  The view is incredible, the villas are stunning and the outdoor shower is everything.  Plus, Betty makes a mean breakfast burrito that I still crave two years later.  So much so that I might just have to go back.

Until soon,

E

About wanderingmuses31

We are both from the USA, and now we live in Thessaloniki, Greece. We are friends with similar interests and hobbies - namely photography and all things aesthetically pleasing and lots of laughter. We don't claim to know about a lot of things, but hope that you find inspiration in some of the things that inspire us. Thanks.
This entry was posted in Wanderings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

